Executive Board Meeting: Minutes

9/12/2022

Zoom Platform

NDLA Board Members Present:

Will Martin, President Kerrianne Boetcher, President-Elect Aaron Stefanich, Treasurer Sara Westall, ALA Councilor Andrea Placher, Public Library Section Chair Shari Mosser, School Library and Youth Services Section Chair Virginia Bjorness, Bylaws and Policies Committee Co-Chair Kristen Borysewicz, Bylaws and Policies Committee Co-Chair BreAnne Meier, Nominations, Voting, and Elections Committee Chair Brittany Fischer, Academic and Special Libraries Section Chair James Murphy, Finance Committee Chair Erika Johnson, Health Science Information Section Chair

NDLA Board Members Absent:

Rita Ennen, Past-President Tonya Palmer, Secretary Randi Monley, MPLA Representative Mary Soucie, State Librarian Liz Mason, Membership Committee Chair Trevor Martinson, Archivist

Also present:

Jen Hess

President Will Martin called the meeting to order at 1:05 PM

Approval of August minutes

Minutes will be approved at the next board meeting.

Tonya Palmer has been elected as the new NDLA secretary. Liz Mason (ODIN) has been elected as the new Membership Committee Chair

Approval of slate of candidates

The following list of candidates was presented to the board. President-Elect = Tammy Kruger, School Library Specialist, North Dakota State Library A&SL Section Chair-Elect = Tina Stockdill, Reference & Instruction Librarian, Bismarck State College HSIS Section Chair-Elect = Sandi Bates, SW Clinical Campus Librarian, University of North Dakota Public Library Section Chair-Elect = Morgan Keyser, Children's Librarian, Williston Community Library SLAYS Chair-Elect = Kimberly Mosley, Library Media Specialist, Garden Valley Elementary

Kerrianne Boetcher made a motion to approve the slate of candidates. The approval of Kimberly Mosley is contingent on her NDLA membership renewal as all officers must be current association members. Andrea Placher seconded. Motion carried.

NDLA Awards

Librarian of the Year

Kerrianne shared that a candidate for Librarian of the Year was selected by Maggie Townsend, Tracy Lund, Phyllis Braaten. Award will be announced at the annual conference.

Major Benefactor

The board selected two parties to receive the Major Benefactor award. Aaron Stefanich made the motion and Kerrianne Boetcher seconded. Motion carried. Award will be announced at the annual conference.

Additional Items

Will shared that he had written a letter in support of renaming the Velva School and Public Library. The community is in the process of renaming the library in honor of Iris Swedlund, a past Librarian of the Year recipient and lifelong supporter of the library. There was some question as to whether the library could be renamed since it was formerly named in honor of Elizabeth Bodine who received the National Mother of the Year award in the '60s. However, it seems that the old name did not move with the library when it relocated to a new facility, so there's no impediment to renaming it in honor of Iris. They'll let us know when there's a formal announcement date and naming ceremony.

The new Google Workspace for the association is now in use. Email addresses and document storage will be created for officers and sections so that information can be passed seamlessly when officers change. Account passwords will be updated with new officers. Currently the email accounts for NDLA President, Past President, President Elect, and Membership Chair are established and old email messages have been imported to the account. The Policies and Bylaws Committee has had a meeting to set up storage and email; next step will be to continue with the chairs of other sections. This will probably happen within the month.

Early bird registration for the annual conference concludes on 9/15/2022. There are currently 54 confirmed and 25 pending registrations for the conference. Not many have registered for the preconference, possibly because it was announced after people had registered for the conference. It may be a good idea to send another announcement about the pre-conference.

The October board meeting will be held in person in Minot as the annual conference begins. Will will look into providing a Zoom option for those unable to attend in person.

Meeting adjourned at 1:32 PM

Submitted by Erika Johnson Health Science Information Section Chair